German Efficiency

Since September we have not had part of a bathroom wall due to a leak in our building.  It has FINALLY been fixed and now I have my shower curtain back up and can shower like a normal human.  The funny thing?  I had gotten so used to the shower curtain NOT being there that now it scares me when I go into the bathroom.  HA!  It has been such a long process because they had to get estimates from each person- drywaller, tiler, etc.  Then have it approved by insurance and then come in and fix the wall in steps.  When the day finally came for them to fix it, I found out that each person had apparently measured wrong and didn’t have the right amount of supplies.  Now I don’t work in those fields but I think if I know the size of a tile and the size of the space that needs to be tiled, I could have easily measured CORRECTLY.  AND THIS IS WHAT THEY DO FOR A LIVING!!!  Anyway, they came back, wall is fixed, I can shower like a regular person, and hopefully tomorrow I won’t scare myself with the shower curtain.  🙂

 

The next part of this post?  We have to end all of our accounts here- internet, tv, phone, insurance, taxes, etc.  There is no way to complete any of this until you get your de-registration paperwork stating that you are leaving the country.  This can only be done about 2 weeks before you leave.  Well one of the items that we have to cancel needs the de-registration papers, then they review the account, mail something back to you and then you find out if you are ok.  Ummm…all of this done in less than 2 weeks…right before a move?  I don’t think it will happen.  AWFUL.

 

I’m slowly starting to realize that I am not going to get to enjoy my last few weeks in Germany.  I wanted to hit up all the playgrounds with Conor and spend time with friends, but it is turning out to be appointment after appointment.  From bathroom repairs (multiple times) to showings of the apartment to new tenants to other random stuff (like selling of items and dryer repairs…yet again).  Yes, our dryer has broken for the GAZILLIONTH time.  I called to have it repaired again and got the info to “write an email” to complain.  To tell you the truth, this just seems like it fits in with the whole efficiency matter of Germany.  At least I’m keeping the call center people and repairmen in jobs.  So I guess I’m stimulating the German economy.  Let me tell you, I hope I don’t have to stimulate the USA economy in the same fashion.  HA!

 

Good night to all and enjoy your USA efficiency!  🙂

About meredith

We moved to Frankfurt Germany and this is a blog where I can share all the ups and downs we have along the way while living abroad. It is also a place where I can share stories about my son. Hopefully you find it interesting!

Leave a comment